Skip to content
July 19, 2010 / dfrelix

You are an Overcomer!

You CAN Overcome Temptation!

Isn’t it amazing that no matter how hard you try to stop doing the very thing you don’t want to do, somehow, someway, the opportunity to engage conveniently presents itself? It’s as if temptation shows up out of nowhere and convincingly invites you to partake of what it is offering. Be it saying no to that relationship you know is all wrong for you, to eating that meal you know you just shouldn’t, temptation (whatever it may be for you) has served the ball in your court and now you must decide whether you will return the serve or miss it altogether. You experience the internal struggle of wanting to go there, but knowing in your heart of hearts that it’s wrong. Besides, as a follower of Jesus Christ you’re expected to do the right thing, right? Right! HOWEVER, the wonderful thing about walking with Jesus while battling temptation is that you are not left alone and defenseless to resist it on your own.  Help is available for you if you only ask. It’s as close as, “Jesus, help! I’m about to fall!” Before you can get the last word out of your mouth, He’s right there with you and will always offer you a way of escape if you truly want it. The popular gospel group “Mary, Mary” has a song that describes him as a “Super friend,” and it takes that kind of friend to come to the rescue when temptation has you cornered.

Moment of Reflection:

What temptation/s are you struggling with? Take a moment and list them.

Take Action:

  1. Read 1 Corinthians 10:13 & Hebrews 4: 14-16
  2. Prepare for Victory! Sit down and take another look at the list you made. Next to each item listed, write out one or two things you will do that will enable you to resist the next time you are faced with temptation.
  3. Pray that the Lord will give you strength to become an Overcomer.

Lord, Your Word tells me that if I would submit to You, resist the devil, he would flee from me (James 4:7).  Lord, I have been struggling with (state your list).  I pray You would help me by showing me a way of escape when I face these struggles again. Your Word tells me You know how to rescue the Godly from temptation (II Peter 2:9), so please rescue me and help me to overcome every temptation that presents itself to me.

Thank You for making me an Overcomer!

In Jesus’ Name, Amen.

Copyright 2010 Dana Frelix

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Felisha / Sep 28 2010 11:39 pm

    Wow, what a beautiful blog and prayer that you posted Dana! And just like the other posts that you’ve made, this one was right on time!

    I’ve read the scripture in 1 Corinthians 10:13, that you posted and have mediated on it. It’s comforting to know that God realizes the temptations that I am faced with on a daily basis. His Word promises that I will not be tempted beyond what I can bear. Praise Him for His strength to stand against temptation whenever it occurs!

Leave a Reply

