Skip to content
August 16, 2010 / dfrelix

Are You Living in Fear?

God’s Got Your Back!

I’m sure many of us have heard the common phrase, “I’ve got your back,” but have you ever thought about what those words really mean? When someone says, “I’ve got your back” they are saying they’re watching out for you, and if you need them they will be right there.  They will do anything and everything within their power to come to your aid. While this pledge of allegiance is noble and selfless, it is unfortunately limited in what it can truly accomplish. What happens when human ability isn’t enough? What happens when resources become depleted? What if they aren’t the biggest? What happens when they can’t always be where you are? Whose got your back then? Well, you have a Father in heaven whose got what you need—hands down! He’s all powerful, He can’t be outwitted, He has an unlimited supply of resources at His disposal, and He’s bigger than any problem you will ever encounter!

If you are facing situations that seem scary at best, fear no more.  Human relationships are wonderful; however, it’s important not to place our entire trust in them, because there is a limit to what they can accomplish.  Jesus desires that you place your total trust in Him. Hear Him saying to you today, “I’ve got your back,” and refuse to spend another day walking in fear.

Moment of Reflection:

Are there situations you are facing that keep you living in fear? If so, take a moment and list them.

Take Action:

  1. Read Psalm 91 and Psalm 23
  2. Take a moment and revisit the list you made above. Meditate on the words you just read and how they apply to the situations you listed.
  3. Next to each item listed above, write out one or two reasons why you will no longer fear.

Prayer:

Father, I thank You for being my protector, and for the assurance that no weapon formed against me shall ever be able to prosper (Isaiah 54:17).  Your Word tells me that You are my light, my salvation, and the strength of my life (Psalm 27:1-2), therefore I have no need to be afraid.  Father I lift up these situations that have been keeping me living in fear (state your list). I ask that You would deliver me from the spirit of fear and worry concerning them as I trust You to protect me. I also ask that in the future when life closes in on me, that You would help me to remember that You are my loving shepherd (Psalm 23:1), and  Your Word says even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for You are with me (Psalm 23:4).Thank You for having my back.

In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Copyright 2010 Dana Frelix

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Felisha / Sep 28 2010 11:24 pm

    If God be for me then who would be against me! With God there are no fears and no obstacles that I can’t overcome! Psalm 34:34 says, “I sought the LORD, and he heard me, and delivered me from all my fears.”

Leave a Reply

