Skip to content
September 8, 2010 / dfrelix

Working for Righteousnes

Accepting God’s Gift of Righteousness

God has bestowed upon His children the priceless gift of righteousness through His Son, Jesus Christ, yet many of us fail to take advantage of it. We spend countless hours toiling and laboring in vain to do things that, in our minds, will make us “right” with Him.  We shun talking to God through prayer, or even going to church because we feel we have to clean ourselves up before we feel worthy enough to partake in these actions. Unfortunately, what we fail to realize is that the work has already been accomplished for us. Jesus Christ paid for our righteousness with His shed blood—the only form of payment that was sufficient. It is only through this gift of shed blood that God sees us as children of righteousness who are free from guilt and sin. Don’t get me wrong, good works are wonderful, and they certainly please God; however, good works do not cleanse us from sin, and they are not a prerequisite before we can approach the Father. He calls us to Him without having to clean ourselves up–He calls us to Him just as we are.

If you realize you have been spinning your wheels working tirelessly trying to “get right” before you seek God, let me invite you to experience His rest.  Realize it is impossible for any human being to wear the title of righteousness on their own accord, however when you ask Him to forgive you of your sins and cleanse you from all unrighteousness, immediately you have that blessing. I urge you today to recognize who you are: the righteousness of God through Jesus Christ.

Moment of Reflection:

  1. What are some ways you have tried to work for God’s gift of righteousness?
  2. Have you ever shunned praying to God or going to church because you feel you have to “clean yourself up” before doing so?

Take Action:

Read: Romans 5:18-21 and 2 Corinthians 5:21

Prayer:

Father I thank You that I have been made righteous by the blood of Jesus Christ and not of my own efforts.  Lord, please help me to be quick to confess my sins to You, because You are faithful to forgive and faithful to cleanse me from all unrighteousness (1 John. 1:9).  I pray in times when I am tempted, You would help me to stop trying to work for right standing with You, but instead rest in the gift of righteousness that Jesus gave me when He died for my sins.  

In Jesus Name, Amen.

Copyright 2010 Dana Frelix

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Felisha / Sep 21 2010 4:31 pm

    Amen Dana! I read this just in time! I was feeling this way just last night. I had not earnestly went to God in fervent prayer in quite a while and I did feel unworthy at the time but as I prayed to God and He saw the desires of my heart I felt His presence growing stronger as I talked with Him about forgiveness. I felt a sense of calmness come over me and I knew that all was forgiven!

    I do love the scriptures that you posted for reading and in Romans5:20 it says, “where sin increased, grace increased all the more” – these words were so comforting to me Dana and I know now that through God I an concur all things.

Leave a Reply

