Skip to content
June 20, 2011 / dfrelix

When Change Becomes Scary

 

God, the Only Constant

I recently attended the funeral of a close relative. This death caught all of us off guard, and it came within one year of burying three other loved ones. As I drove the tree-lined roads of that Alabama morning on the way to the funeral, I knew the dynamic of our family had been forever changed, again. I knew when I visited my family there would be one more face that wouldn’t be among the crowd. Now, it’s one thing to experience change simply because you have matured, and the eyes of which you once viewed things have seen so much more that it’s inevitable to look at things the same, but it’s another thing altogether when change happens because of a tragic and unforeseen circumstance that forces a disruption of all things normal. This situation was precisely that. The very thought of how different things would be now made me grow sadder by the second—so much so that I asked myself, “is there anything that won’t ever change?”  No sooner did I ask that question did my mind go to God. As I thought about Him I realized that He is the only constant in this world. He never fluctuates in His personality, He’s always there when we call upon Him, and (this came as a relief) He never dies!

Now I must admit that this realization didn’t lift the hurt I was feeling because of my loss, but it did comfort me to know that the One in whom I place my confidence is a constant force. He is my source of joy and hope when the circumstances of life weigh heavily upon me, and He won’t up and leave thereby force me to adapt with the loss of His presence in my life.

 In this world of constant flux and change, it’s good to know that we have a God who remains the same. He truly is a very present help in the time of trouble (Psalm 46:1).

 Dana Frelix 2011

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. KImberley Thompson / Jun 20 2011 7:00 pm

    Thank you for sharing your story. I am learning that change is constant and is always at work in our lives on so many levels. Change meets us everyone and is not respector of person. Sometimes we exapect but often change is an upexpected guest in our lives. The death of a love one is always a hard one to grasp becaus the loss is very intimate and the reminders are present at family gathers and quite frankly in our hearts.

    I am proud of the work you are doing with this blog! Keep sharing. I am blessed when I do read the messages.

    • dfrelix / Aug 1 2011 6:07 pm

      Kimberley,
      Thank you for the encouragement!

  2. TERI REES WANG / Jun 21 2011 4:02 am

    We are ever evolving, and still we remain tethered to a creative source, in all ways.
    Cheers!

    • dfrelix / Aug 1 2011 6:09 pm

      Cheers!

      Teri always love your comments!

Leave a Reply

