Skip to content
August 10, 2011 / dfrelix

Break those Chains!

Breaking the Chains of Bitterness and Unforgiveness

All of us have encountered situations that have left us wounded and embittered. Some of us have moved beyond the offense and the emotions that accompany it, but others of us are still struggling with the memories of that fateful experience. If the truth were told, the wounds are just as fresh today as they were the day you experienced the personal violation. If you find that you are one of those people who still struggle with letting go of an offense and the bitterness it brings, let me remind you that it is in your best interest to break those chains. Why? Well, because first and foremost, Jesus commands us to forgive; and two, holding on to bitter feelings and emotions has a way of turning on you and causing you more pain than you thought you could ever experience.

I was guilty of this very thing. For years I harbored feelings of bitterness and unforgiveness in my heart. I kept the memories of what took place in my life fresh by replaying them over and over again. Partly because I wanted to justify my stubborn position of holding on to toxic emotions that I knew I needed to release, and partly because I wanted to feel sorry for myself. Neither of the two proved to be beneficial.  As time went on, the offenses never stopped coming, and so each time I experienced a situation that needed reconciliation, it reminded me of what I had previously experienced and made me more justified in my position. Rather than letting go of the offenses, I collected them in my heart, piling them on top of one another. The results were sad, especially for someone who considered herself a child of God. It made me angry, it prevented me from having healthy relationships, and it made me a tool for which the enemy could use to perpetrate the same type of offense on someone else because I was all too familiar with it.  It took some time, but with the power of the Holy Spirit, I finally broke free of the old chains of bitterness that had me bound.

Today I am quick to check my heart to make sure there are no hidden areas of bitterness and unforgiveness. If I do find some, I repent and ask the Lord to heal me and deliver me from these feelings because I know the damage they can cause.

What about you? Are there past experiences in your life that have left you unforgiving and bitter? If so, I urge you today to serve them an eviction notice. Your heart was meant to be a dwelling place for God’s Spirit, not a playground for the enemy to wreak havoc in your life and in the lives of others. With God’s help it can be done! Go on, break those chains!

Dana Frelix

Copyright 2011

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. DONNIE / Aug 10 2011 9:56 pm

    Excellent! Well said Dana. I love your blog. 🙂

    • dfrelix / Aug 11 2011 3:41 am

      Thank you Donnie! And a BIG thank you for taking the time out to read them!

  2. Teri Rees Wang / Sep 13 2011 4:42 am

    I used to love holding a grudge.
    I felt high of the power of the stronghold.
    The good thing was, that if kept only the brave and ever forgiving souls to step in and stay in my life.
    I learned from a long time friend, how fast a grudge could be shed.
    I said something that stung. As we stepped off the curb, she verbally cut my head off. Fast as a Saboteur. She did me a favor. We walked across the street, and as we stepped back up on to the sidewalk, she offered up lunch plans and a fun filled day.
    Forgiving happens as fast as crossing the street.

    Cheers!… Dana

    Come find me sometime.

Leave a Reply

